Board of Governors Profiles

Argyll College UHI Board September 2015

The Board of Governors of Argyll College UHI currently has 11 members, including the Principal, Fraser Durie, a staff member and a student member. A member of the Board of Governors (other than the Principal and the student member) will hold office for a period of 4 years with the option of reappointment for a further two terms, hence serving for a maximum of 12 years. The Principal of the college is a member of the Board for as long as he/she holds that position.

All Governors must comply with the Code of Conduct, as detailed in the Argyll College UHI Constitution and Standing Orders of the Board of Governors, whose key principles are: Public Service, Selflessness, Integrity, Objectivity, Accountability and Stewardship, Openness, Honesty, Leadership and Respect. Membership of the Board is voluntary and unremunerated except in the case of reasonable expenses. Board member recruitment policy details the recruitment process and requirements for membership of the Board.

One of the many roles of the Board of Governors is to provide strategic leadership and direction to the college, through oversight of, and contribution to, key strategy documents - such as the Regional Outcome Agreement - and by setting strategic priorities for areas including financial objectives and staffing strategies for example.