Business NPAs SCQF Level 6

What is special about this course?

Any of these National Progression Awards (NPAs) will enable you to improve your digital skills and several of them will provide you with insights into the world of business, providing you with an understanding of the contemporary workplace.

Most of these courses are delivered over the whole of the academic year and you’ll undertake between 2 and 3 SQA units in each semester.

You’ll gain an NPA which is recognised by employers. You can undertake more than 1 NPA at a time but you should speak to us if you wish to do this, so that we can advise you on your chosen course of study.

You may also study a single unit from any of the NPAs - to apply for individual units please use this form.

Entry requirements

  • Three National 5s or equivalent

If you don't meet our entry requirements, your previous experience may still qualify you for this course. Mature students will be considered on merit.  

NPA Business Skills – Course Fee £430
You’ll study 5 SQA units:

  • Understanding Business (Semester 1)
  • Web Apps: Word Processing (Semester 1)
  • Management of People and Finance (Semester 2)
  • Web Apps: Spreadsheets (Semester 2)
  • Contemporary Business Issues (Semester 2)

NPA Business with Information Technology – Course Fee £344
You’ll study 4 SQA units:

  • Understanding Business (Semester 1)
  • Web Apps: Word Processing (Semester 1)
  • IT Solutions for Administrators (Semester 1)
  • Management of Marketing Operations (Semester 2)

NPA PC Passport – Course Fee £258
You’ll study 3 SQA Units 

  • Web Apps: Word Processing (Semester 1)
  • Web Apps: Spreadsheets (Semester 2)
  • Web Apps: Presentations (Semester 2)

NPA Digital Passport – Course Fee £258
You’ll study 3 SQA Units 

  • Data Citizenship (Semester 2)
  • Web Apps: Spreadsheets (Semester 2)
  • Web Apps: Presentations (Semester 2)

How will I study my course?

  • Part Time

How long will my course last?

1 Academic Year

Where can I study my course?

    • Arran Learning Centre
    • Campbeltown Hazelburn Learning Centre
    • Dunoon Learning Centre
    • Helensburgh Learning Centre
    • Islay Learning Centre
    • Lochgilphead Learning Centre
    • Oban Learning Centre
    • Rothesay Learning Centre

Start date

These NPAs start in August.

Digital Passport will start in January 2025 and will last for 17 weeks.


For the latest information on fees please see our fees policy.


If you are on a low income or in receipt of certain benefits may receive a fee waiver. Please refer to page 2 of our Fees and Funding Guide to see if you are eligible.  If you think this may apply to you, please contact us and we can advise you.

This course is not available to students who require a Tier 4 Home Office visa to study in Scotland (international or EU).

Is there more information available online?

QR Code - scan to visit course page

You can use the above QR code to connect directly to the course details.

Business NPAs

I want to apply for 

We are delighted that you are thinking about studying at UHI Argyll. UHI Argyll operates a fair and open admissions system committed to equality of opportunity and non-discrimination. We consider all applications on merit and on the basis of ability to achieve, without discrimination on grounds of age, disability, gender identity, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity status, race, religion and/or belief, sex, sexual orientation or socio-economic background. We welcome applications from all prospective students and aim to provide appropriate and efficient services to students with disabilities.