PC Passport National 4,5 or 6

What is special about this course?

PC Passport is a suite of qualifications, available at 3 different levels - Beginner, Intermediate or Advanced. 

It is perfect for students and employees who want to learn how to use computers, or to improve their existing knowledge. At each level, it is possible to achieve individual units or a National Progression Award (NPA) with embedded core skills.

Choose one unit to start you off, to suit both your experience and what subject interests you the most.  Having finished that unit, you may decide to do further units, studying different subjects at the same level or progressing your skills in the same subject.

Entry requirements

For entry to a course at SCQF level 4 (Beginner level) you should have good basic keyboard skills as well as knowing your way around a computer. If uncertain, it would be beneficial for you to complete a beginners' course such as Computer and Online Basics.

For entry to Intermediate or Advanced level units, you should already have the skills included in units at  the previous level.  Please ask your learning centre for more details.

You may complete one unit or a number of units.  If you complete all units at one level, you will also be awarded the National Progression Award (NPA) at that level.  The units at each level are as follows. 

Introduction to the Internet and Online Communications
Introduction to IT Software and Presenting Information (Word Processing, Spreadsheets, Presentations, Imaging)
Introduction to IT Systems

Internet and Online Communications
IT Software: Word Processing and Presenting Information
IT Software: Spreadsheets and Database
IT Systems - half credit

Working with Internet and Online Communications
Working with IT Software: Word Processing and Presenting Information
Working with IT Software: Spreadsheets and Database
Working with IT Security for Users - half credit
Working with Artwork and Imaging - half credit

Each class will concentrate on one unit for all students, and you would then join other classes to complete further units. Availability of specific units will depend on the demand in your local centre, so please ask for further information.

How will I study my course?

  • Part Time
  • Evening

Your tutor will guide you through the unit using a series of demonstrations, learning materials and practice exercises, to prepare you for your assessment.

How long will my course last?

28 Hours

You will participate in a weekly class, for a total of approximately 28 hours for each unit you are studying.

Where can I study my course?

Start date

Please contact your local centre for information on possible start dates.


For the latest information on fees please see our fees policy.

What can I do on completion of my course?

This course contains the ideal progression structure. You may wish to complete all units at one level, at which point you will also achieve the National Progression Award at that level.  You can then progress to the next level, moving from Beginner to Intermediate and then Advanced.  From Advanced level (which is SCQF level 6) you could go on to study IT in Business units at SCQF level 7, or a complete HNC in Administration and IT.

Is there more information available online?

QR Code - scan to visit course page

You can use the above QR code to connect directly to the course details.

Apply for PC Passport National 4,5 or 6

To enrol, or for further information on this course, please contact your local Argyll College Centre

We are delighted that you are thinking about studying at Argyll College UHI. Argyll College operates a fair and open admissions system committed to equality of opportunity and non-discrimination. We consider all applications on merit and on the basis of ability to achieve, without discrimination on grounds of age, disability, gender identity, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity status, race, religion and/or belief, sex, sexual orientation or socio-economic background. We welcome applications from all prospective students and aim to provide appropriate and efficient services to students with disabilities.

Search again