Dance SCQF level 5

What is special about this course?

The National Progression Award (NPA) in Dance at SCQF level 5 (Intermediate 2) is an introductory qualification in Dance in which candidates explore choreography and gain an appreciation of dance skills and techniques. It allows candidates to develop knowledge, understanding and skills in choreography and two different styles of dance selected from the following: Classical, Contemporary, Jazz and Alternative. Students will also research and analyse dance styles and practitioners, putting their learning into context.

Entry requirements

It would be expected that candidates would have an interest and/or some experience in dance and performance. Those who may have no formal qualifications may have suitable life or work experience which indicates that they will be able to undertake Units at SCQF level 5. The latter may be particularly applicable to adult learners.

The NPA in Dance is a programme of study containing 3 SQA Unit credits. There is one mandatory Unit and two optional Units which will make up the remainder of the course. w. A minimum of 18 SCQF points (3 credits) is required to achieve the award.

You achieve the NPA in Dance level 5 you will need to successfully complete 3 Units

There is one mandatory Unit:

Dance: Choreography (SCQF level 5).

The mandatory Unit Dance: Choreography allows candidates to develop choreographic skills which allow them to create movement, use stimuli and analyse a dance piece by an established choreographer. They will be introduced to choreographic devices and stimuli and will put these skills into practice through tutor-led tasks and workshops.

There are four optional Units from which you will study two of the following Units:

Dance: Alternative (SCQF level 5)

Dance: Classical (SCQF level 5)

Dance: Contemporary (SCQF level 5)

Dance: Jazz (SCQF level 5)

How will I study my course?

  • Part Time

This course will be delivered face-to-face, with individual, small group and larger droup work.

The NPA in Dance has the potential to improve progression to further study, providing learners with relevant experiences which develop skills of self-discipline, professionalism, commitment, collaboration and creative thinking.

How long will my course last?

Will vary depending on school timetable

Where can I study my course?

    • Argyll College UHI
    • Helensburgh Learning Centre

Start date

Will vary depending on school timetable


For the latest information on fees please see our fees policy.

What can I do on completion of my course?

It is anticipated that the majority of those completing the NPA in Dance will articulate with other programmes of study. The National Progression Award in Dance at SCQF level 5 has the potential to enhance an individual’s employability profile

Is there more information available online?

QR Code - scan to visit course page

You can use the above QR code to connect directly to the course details.

Apply for Dance SCQF level 5

I want to start in 2018/19
I want to start in 2019/20

We are delighted that you are thinking about studying at Argyll College UHI. Argyll College operates a fair and open admissions system committed to equality of opportunity and non-discrimination. We consider all applications on merit and on the basis of ability to achieve, without discrimination on grounds of age, disability, gender identity, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity status, race, religion and/or belief, sex, sexual orientation or socio-economic background. We welcome applications from all prospective students and aim to provide appropriate and efficient services to students with disabilities.

Search again